Keeping the cash flow up – especially relevant for the e-commerce sector

There is hardly any other sector with a faster flow of money and goods than e-commerce. Thanks to the optimization of supply chains, warehousing, ordering and payment processes, e-commerce allows very profitable business models to be established. However, the high volatility in the business bears risks for the cash flow. One of the main concerns of liquidity and financial planning in e-commerce companies is therefore to maintain a maximum of free available cash flow and to minimize the amount of “dead” capital, e.g. tied up as unsold goods in the warehouse. This can be achieved by optimizing the so-called cash conversion cycle. The CCC is a key figure that indicates how long it takes for a company to convert its investment in inventory back into incoming liquidity.

Illustration: How the Cash Conversion Cycle is Calculated

Illustration: Cash Conversion Cycle

The shorter the CCC, the higher the available liquidity. Some e-commerce companies like Amazon even have a negative cash conversion cycle. This means that Amazon only pays its suppliers after the money has been earned from sales. The question of warehousing is also very cash-flow relevant for e-commerce companies. A well stocked warehouse guarantees short delivery times for the customer, but causes high running costs and ties up a lot of capital. Long storage times therefore generally mean a lower level of liquidity.

E-Commerce

Why is cash flow management so important in e-commerce?

1. Fast turnover of goods and money causes fluctuations in the cash flow, which should be kept under control.

2. Key figures such as the Cash Conversion Cycle can help to optimize warehousing and payment processes

3. A good analysis of your historical cash flow will enable you to better forecast future developments

How does flowpilot help e-commerce companies?

With flowpilot, e-commerce companies keep their liquidity under control. As soon as the accounting data has been uploaded, the cash flow is displayed as a clear chart. In order to manage particularly fast payment flows, daily updates are also possible. flowpilot’s planning tools make it very easy to plan the future liquidity development in different scenarios up to 5 years in advance. Risks to solvency can thus be identified more quickly and avoided through early actions. Moreover, flowpilot visualizes interesting key figures for liquidity planning in clear dashboards, e.g. the cash conversion cycle. No matter whether CEO, CFO or Sales Department – all important stakeholders in the company stay well informed about the financial situation.

Easy. Smart. Fast

Upload data and get started right away!

Liquiditätsplanung mit flowpilot

As fast as your business

Always up to date: Upload bookkeeping - Analyze liquidity

Profound action basis

Cash flow analysis helps to take the right decisions

Reliable planning features

Create financial and cash flow scenarios with intuitive tools

Financial overview at a glance

Dashboards for all decision makers

Try out flowpilot now!
It's free and without any obligation

Cashflow erhalten – im E-Commerce besonders wichtig

Kaum eine Branche hat schnellere Geld- und Warenströme als der E-Commerce. Dank der Optimierung von Lieferketten, Lagerhaltung, Bestell- und Bezahlprozessen lassen sich im E-Commerce sehr profitable Geschäftsmodelle aufbauen. Doch die hohe Volatilität des Geschäfts birgt Risiken für den Cashflow. Ein Hauptanliegen der Liquiditäts- und Finanzplanung in E-Commerce-Unternehmen ist es deshalb, möglichst viel frei verfügbaren Cashflow zu erhalten und möglichst wenig „totes“ Kapital , z. B. als noch nicht verkaufte Ware im Lager, zu binden. Gelingen kann dies durch die Optimierung des so genannten Cash Conversion Cycle, einer Kennzahl, die Aufschluss darüber gibt, wie lange des dauert, bis ein Unternehmen seine Investition in den Lagerbestand oder andere Vorwegauszahlungen wieder in zufließende Liquidität umwandeln kann.

Schaubild: So wird der Cash Conversion Cycle berechnet

Infografik: Cash Conversion Cycle

Je kürzer der CCC ist, umso höher ist die verfügbare Liquidität. Manche E-Commerce-Unternehmen wie Amazon haben sogar einen negativen Cash Conversion Cycle. Das bedeutet, dass Amazon seine Lieferanten erst dann bezahlt, nachdem das Geld durch Verkaufserlöse von den Kunden eingenommen wurde. Cashflow relevant für E-Commerce Unternehmen ist auch die Frage der Lagerhaltung. Ein gut gefülltes Lager garantiert zwar kurze Lieferzeiten für den Kunden, verursacht aber hohe laufende Kosten und bindet viel Kapital. Lange Lagerzeiten bedeuten daher in der Regel niedrigere Liquidität.

E-Commerce

Warum ist Liquiditätsplanung im E-Commerce besonders wichtig?

  • Schneller Waren- und Geldumsatz sorgen für Ausschläge im Cashflow, die man im Griff behalten muss.
  • Kennzahlen wie der Cash Conversion Cycle können helfen, Lagerhaltung und Zahlungsverhalten zu optimieren.
  • Wer seinen bisherigen Cashflow gut analysiert, kann zukünftige Entwicklungen in der Liquidität besser prognostizieren.

Was leistet flowpilot für E-Commerce-Unternehmen?

Mit flowpilot behalten E-Commerce-Unternehmen ihre Liquidität im Griff. Sobald die Buchhaltungsdaten hochgeladen wurden, wird der Cashflow als anschauliche Grafik dargestellt. Um besonders schnelle Zahlungsströme zu managen, sind dabei auch tägliche Updates möglich. Die Planungswerkzeuge von flowpilot ermöglichen darüber hinaus, die Liquiditätsentwicklung in unterschiedlichen Szenarien bis zu 5 Jahre im Voraus zu planen. Risiken für die Zahlungsfähigkeit lassen sich so schneller erkennen und durch frühzeitige Maßnahmen vermeiden. flowpilot visualisiert darüber hinaus interessante Kennzahlen für die Liquiditätsplanung in übersichtlichen Dashboards, z. B. den Cash Conversion Cycle. Egal ob CEO, CFO oder Sales Department – alle wichtige Player im Unternehmen bleiben über die finanzielle Situation immer bestens informiert.

Einfach. Smart. Schnell.

Buchhaltung hochladen und sofort loslegen.

Smartphone, Tablet und Laptop with flowpilot screenshots

So schnell wie Ihr Business

Tagesaktuell: Buchhaltung hochladen - Liquidität analysieren

Fundierte Handlungsgrundlage

Die Cashflow-Analyse hilft, die richtigen Entscheidungen zu treffen

Zuverlässig planen

Mit intuitiven Tools Szenarien für Finanzen und Cashflow anlegen

Liquidität immer im Griff

Übersichtliche Dashboards für alle Entscheider

Testen Sie flowpilot jetzt unverbindlich und absolut kostenlos!